PA or DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

arthur2647

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, im a 2nd year student at a local state university. So ive been having a lot of trouble deciding what path to take. I have only taken one pre req for both tracks so far, and im not sure which one would be more to my liking. Im only 19, and i hear from reading my posts on here and on the pa forums, that if your younger you should just go for medical school. I've also heard after some time working as a PA you basically are expected to perform the same duties and do them as well as the attendings. If i went the med school route id be done around 29,30 or probably 25-26 for the pa route, but somehow time is not a huge issue for me. I dont have many commitments, no girlfriend or anything. Debt is not a huge issue as i had an accident when i was little - it awarded me a large amount of finances-. My parents pay for my schooling now so that money is just sitting in a CD account. But in the end im not sure if i would be rather suited being at the top of the ladder or in the middle. Somehow i like having a very open lifestyle, and being able to ask questions of others if i need it. However, i dont know what will make me happier in the end. I realize if i became an attending i would be able to find a job that gives me a good lifestyle and i would only have to spend another few years then going for PA. How did any of you go about choosing the right path? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

comparing DO's to PA's is like comparing MD's to PA's

DO's will make same pay as MD's and have the same practices

the only difference between a DO and MD is that DO school is easier to get into while DO graduates have a harder time getting into residencies than an equivlent MD graduate. however, once residency is done, a DO physician is the same as an MD physician.