1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Paperwork

Discussion in 'Emergency Medicine' started by SanDiegoSOD, Apr 9, 2007.

1. SanDiegoSOD

SanDiegoSOD Milk was a bad choice
    7+ Year Member

Just out of curiosity... how much of your time in the ED is spent on paperwork? Panda usually mentions a 1:3 real work: paperwork ratio, and for the EPs in the hospital that I spent a good deal of time in, it was probably around 1:2. So how many pens do you go through a week?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Dakota

Dakota Senior Member
    Physician 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I plan to hire someone to follow me around and write down whatever needs to be written down. In fact in retrospect, maybe my no documentation necessary policy was what got me in trouble doing bench research . . .

4. GreenShirt

10+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I worked as an ED tech for 2 yrs and it seemed to me that about 70-80% of the EPs time is spent on their butt at the nurses station, either typing reports of haggling with other Dr.s over the phone. It's not a very high patient contact specialty.

5. Apollyon

Apollyon Screw the GST
    Physician Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

In the community, it's a LOT different. About 5 minutes per chart. About 5 minutes to fill out commitment papers. About 2 minutes for a COBRA transfer form.

A lot, if not most, of the BS-but-required paperwork doesn't even pass by my desk. Med and lab orders are either entered by me, or I co-sign the med orders.

6. Wackie

Wackie Inappropriate, always
    5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Scribes are valuable. :D We do all your writing and fetch breakfast/lunch/dinner (if you're buying). :D

7. corpsmanUP

corpsmanUP Senior Member
    7+ Year Member