SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Paperwork

Discussion in 'Emergency Medicine' started by SanDiegoSOD, Apr 9, 2007.

1. SanDiegoSOD

SanDiegoSOD Milk was a bad choice 7+ Year Member

Jul 5, 2004
    Sunny California
    Just out of curiosity... how much of your time in the ED is spent on paperwork? Panda usually mentions a 1:3 real work: paperwork ratio, and for the EPs in the hospital that I spent a good deal of time in, it was probably around 1:2. So how many pens do you go through a week?

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. Dakota

Dakota Senior Member Physician 10+ Year Member

Sep 5, 2005
    I plan to hire someone to follow me around and write down whatever needs to be written down. In fact in retrospect, maybe my no documentation necessary policy was what got me in trouble doing bench research . . .

4. GreenShirt

GreenShirt 10+ Year Member

Feb 6, 2007
    I worked as an ED tech for 2 yrs and it seemed to me that about 70-80% of the EPs time is spent on their butt at the nurses station, either typing reports of haggling with other Dr.s over the phone. It's not a very high patient contact specialty.

5. Apollyon

Apollyon Screw the GST Physician Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Nov 24, 2002
    SCREW IT!
    In the community, it's a LOT different. About 5 minutes per chart. About 5 minutes to fill out commitment papers. About 2 minutes for a COBRA transfer form.

A lot, if not most, of the BS-but-required paperwork doesn't even pass by my desk. Med and lab orders are either entered by me, or I co-sign the med orders.

6. Wackie

Wackie Inappropriate, always 5+ Year Member

Mar 20, 2006
    Home with the Armadillo
    Scribes are valuable. :D We do all your writing and fetch breakfast/lunch/dinner (if you're buying). :D

7. corpsmanUP

corpsmanUP Senior Member 7+ Year Member

Jun 8, 2005