Paramedics?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Avid_waterskier316

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am an EMT-B and in my last year of my bachelors degree. I plan to attend paramedic school in the summer of next year and was wondering if there were any other paramedics who took the non-traditional path to medical school and worked as paramedics and what your insights were?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
I am an EMT-B and in my last year of my bachelors degree. I plan to attend paramedic school in the summer of next year and was wondering if there were any other paramedics who took the non-traditional path to medical school and worked as paramedics and what your insights were?
There's is tons of them who have. But if you are already going to finish your bachelor's, why are you going to enroll into a paramedic school that takes 1-2years? I was gonna go this route, but I chose to keep pursuing my degree instead of putting my education on hold for a career (paramedic) I don't really plan to do in the long run.

It's something I have always wanted to do. Plus there are things that I want to do before I apply to medical school. The educational path takes 11 months and I wanted to do that for 3-5 years. Needless to say, I plan on being a non-traditional student because I want to gain experience and do mission trips and work on my spanish.

Members don't see this ad :)
I worked as an Advanced-EMT (the "volunteer"-paramedic, as it's called colloquially) throughout college. Although I'm not exactly non-trad since I'm just doing one gap year, I did get 4 years of around 40 hours a week in prehospital medicine, and I can say that it was a fantastic experience, for a few reasons:

1). If medicine isn't for you, you'll find out quickly.