PAs and Docs in the ER

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thebird

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im new to the Physician Assistant Scene....but I think it might be right for me. I'm a premed or pre-PA can't decide.

What can't a PA do? Is a PAs responsibility just according to experience...or do they just do stitches and set casts?.. details?
What if any problems/greivences arise often in the ER with PA authority/control?

I've always been interested in ER medicine and I have the GPA, resume, and maturity for med school but I dont want to commit 7 years to just medicine. Im happily occupied with extracurriculars that I dont want to give up/put off. Can you go to med school blow off residency take the PA boards and practice as a PA if you dont wanna do the residency after 4 years? (doubt it, right) Im thinkn PA school now because I can always go back to Medical school right? I feel like theres a lot more good info about med school but not so much for the PA school.....Also, are the PA drop out rates like med school (low)or like law school (high)???? THX...........so many questions!

Members don't see this ad.

thebird said:
Im new to the Physician Assistant Scene....but I think it might be right for me. I'm a premed or pre-PA can't decide.

What can't a PA do? Is a PAs responsibility just according to experience...or do they just do stitches and set casts?.. details?
What if any problems/greivences arise often in the ER with PA authority/control?