Pathology career path

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eastbay

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am interested in pathology, but I haven't had any career mentor in the field and don't know the best career path for what I want to do after residency. I am interested in research, and I am taking a bench research year in between my M3 and M4 year. I have been looking at programs that have a PSTP or the AP/NP combined track.

Are these programs generally very competitive? From what I understand people who go into these programs are generally MD/PhD, but I have had many years of bench research experience. I also am not sure what the career path would be coming out of these programs. Do you have to stay in academia? Is there any prospect in commercial industry? I dont know if I have the full resolve to be a principal investigator writing my own grants, but ideally I would want to be part of a larger project and contribute in some way. If that's the case, what's the career projection? What about the salary for those types of positions? Can I still make a decent living? Will there still be opportunities to go back to the traditional career paths and find a job?

Members don't see this ad.