Ped clinical question...

joel4sale

KT Lee, DDS.
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Mar 24, 2004
Oregon
    Hi there....I am not a Med guy...In fact, I am a dentist from next door. Just got a question that bug the heck out of me and hopefully I can get some answer here..

My girlfriend got a "Mentally-challenged" brother whose physical age is 30 but mental age stayed at about 10 years old. Physically appearance is short, over weight and unable to move right eye properly. Nobody else got that in the family.

The family told me that he got high fever when he was infant and was placed into a "thermo chamber". One of the nurse set temp way too high which caused permeant brain damage. (as they were later told by the doctor from other hospital after he reviewd the record).

Does the story sound right?? We will be married soon, and I am under anxiety attack daily afraid this might be genetic and pass to my kids. Is it possible to have the genes check out??

joel4sale

KT Lee, DDS.
    7+ Year Member
    15+ Year Member
    Mar 24, 2004
    Oregon
      Part of story I missed....He was borned early, 7 1/2 month pregnacy with birth weight 1000 gram. Hence the fever and the chamber...

Then again, I guess without chart none can really be said for sure.

Thanks

About the Ads

joel4sale

KT Lee, DDS.
      7+ Year Member
      15+ Year Member
      Mar 24, 2004
      Oregon
        Haha...nah, We getting married anyway.....I just like to know the odds of "crap" that might happend.

Oh, well, I am at the stage that I don't care anymore. If "crap" does happen, we'll work it out anyway.

AF_PedsBoy

Stuffed Animal Overlord
        10+ Year Member
        5+ Year Member
        Jun 22, 2004
        Japan
        1. Attending Physician
          joel4sale said:
          Hi there....I am not a Med guy...In fact, I am a dentist from next door. Just got a question that bug the heck out of me and hopefully I can get some answer here..