PEM vs urgent care

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Julietcf14

I'd rather be hiking
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am a second year resident trying to decide what to do with the rest of my life. I LOVE my ED rotations but its not the traumas I care much for, it's the coughs and colds + suturing and splinting and abscess draining that really make my world go round. I am trying to figure out if my best option is to apply PEM (with 3 years fellowship and limited jobs) or are there urgent cares out there where I could still do minor procedure like splinting, suturing, and abscess draining!!?! I just don't know enough about urgent cares that are not attached to a pediatric ER to know if that option even exists. If it does, then I am pretty sure that would be my happy place but if not then I think my best option is PEM. Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey guys,
I am a second year resident trying to decide what to do with the rest of my life. I LOVE my ED rotations but its not the traumas I care much for, it's the coughs and colds + suturing and splinting and abscess draining that really make my world go round. I am trying to figure out if my best option is to apply PEM (with 3 years fellowship and limited jobs) or are there urgent cares out there where I could still do minor procedure like splinting, suturing, and abscess draining!!?! I just don't know enough about urgent cares that are not attached to a pediatric ER to know if that option even exists. If it does, then I am pretty sure that would be my happy place but if not then I think my best option is PEM. Thoughts?