Penn state residency program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

creek

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
anyone work in Penn state or interviewed there before? any insights will be appreciated...interviewing in 2 weeks. Thanks!:)

Members don't see this ad.

epic-fail-sports-failure-penn-state-everything-pedobear.gif

Members don't see this ad :)
I was a resident there and have stayed on as staff (just finished residency last year).

I think the program is great. Our program directors really care about the residents and are constantly trying to make it a better place. The chair values education and makes it a priority. There is emphasis on research and making the residents become consultant anesthesiologists. Most importantly, I was well trained and feel comfortable doing almost any cases. We take care of very sick patients. Central PA has a very obese population so airway training is top notch. In talking with all my fellow graduates, everyone feels very confident and capable and we had a mix of people going into PP/academics/fellowship.

On average, I worked 60 hours a week. On some rotations, I worked more, on others less. If you want to be relieved by CRNAs at 3pm every day, this is not your program! On average I worked 630-5pm three days a week. One day I would get out by 2 and another I would be there until 730-8. The call system is very fair. I feel like I was valued and respected by both the attendings and other services. The relationship with the surgery department is collegial and I learned a lot from my surgical colleagues.

The four year program is fantastic. It's well thought out and executed. When rotating off service you are still a member of the department of anesthesia and are treated as such.