Personal statement, am I missing anything?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sumstorm

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated in 2001, and I feel relatively good about my personal statement, but keep getting the feeling that I am missing something important. Don't know if it is nerves, or if I wasn't clear enough somewhere. Thoughts? If anyone has enough energy to read.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think I can fix that!

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
It looks good! You have had some amazing experiences and the essay flows well. I would say it is time to hit the submit button.

I agree--it looks excellent. You've got some amazing experiences!

Nice essay!!!

...and my how jealous of I am of your experience in Thailand! Good for you!

SUBMIT!!!!

:)

Amazing essay. Enjoyed reading it, and like the previous posters said, great experience. Two comments.

You are currently (by my calculations, over the limit @ 5,048 characters w/ spaces. I think something has to go (a sentence or a few redundant words perhaps).

The ending. I worked for me, but the very last sentence seemed to lack the same passion that we saw in the rest of the essay. If you end up finding the room, perhaps close it with a ref. to your opening with Mae Perm.

Overall, loved it. G/L.

BTW, loved the subtle reference that you worked as an undergrad because you had to, financially. I had a bit of trouble alluding to that in my PS, you did a good job, without playing the "disadvantaged" card.

I agree w/ No Imagination about the ending. The rest of the essay is very cohesive and crafted together, but then last sentence just hangs there. I don't think it really makes a difference what you do, bc overall it's a great essay, but if you're a perfectionist it might feel good just to improve the ending.