Pharm Tech certification?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jammin2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a second year undergrad student, and I was wondering if taking a class to become a certified pharm tech would be worth it? My friend was going to take it, but it seems like a lot of money for something that might not even help me in my future? As far as I know, you don't need to take a class or anything to become a pharm tech, right? ...Then again, with my grades, I'm gonna need all the help I can get trying to get into pharm school...what are your thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

It all depends on whether you plan on working as a pharm tech before you apply. If you do than certification is definitely helpful. Otherwise $120 down the drain.

Yea I'm planning on working as a pharm tech...but that's another issue. What if I can't find a job as a pharm tech? Seems like a waste of money to me...also, do you have to get recertified every year? Oh yea, and the price is $679 to take the class (sans books) at a local community college.

Members don't see this ad :)
Jammin2 said:
Yea I'm planning on working as a pharm tech...but that's another issue. What if I can't find a job as a pharm tech? Seems like a waste of money to me...also, do you have to get recertified every year? Oh yea, and the price is $679 to take the class (sans books) at a local community college.

Take the PTCB exam in March. It's $120 for the exam and you have to re-certify every 2 years. The pharm cert. offered at community colleges work well if you want to work in a clinical environment. You will get lab time and such. Many retail stores look for the PTCB cert. Furthermore, I don't know how much you know about the pharm field so it would make sense that you work or volunteer in the field to get some hands on experience. It can only help you in the long run.