Pharm. Tech Vs. Pharm.Intern

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mine44u

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, so I am a Pharm Tech, and I am gonna start the PharmD this fall. I need to work while going to school. So I was wondering, should I work as an intern since I am gonna be in Pharmacy School( I wonder if Interns earn more) or should I continue as a tech. Thing is, I need more money than the 11.50/hr that I am making now. Is it possible to work full time while in Pharm, School? Like I said, I need the money, not to talk about the health insurance.​

Members don't see this ad.

Okay, so I am a Pharm Tech, and I am gonna start the PharmD this fall. I need to work while going to school. So I was wondering, should I work as an intern since I am gonna be in Pharmacy School( I wonder if Interns earn more) or should I continue as a tech. Thing is, I need more money than the 11.50/hr that I am making now. Is it possible to work full time while in Pharm, School? Like I said, I need the money, not to talk about the health insurance.​

I know that many people at Creighton do, and the students at the other schools I have visited so far work in some capacity. After all, many of us are going to accrue thousands of dollars in debt if not more than $100,000. We need to make back the money somehow.

So, working isn't a rare thing. Of course, you just have to remember that school comes first.

I don't know about working as an intern before you start your pharmacy school because every state is different, but I know that you are NOT allowed to work FULL TIME while in pharmacy school. Schools do not allow that (at least the schools I know), even if they did, how would you find the time to study?? I see that you need money, don't we all, but can't you take out financial aid? Are you not eligible for it? Are you an international student?

Members don't see this ad :)