Pharma R &D

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MindCastle15

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey...so I'm interested in working in R & D of a pharmaceutical company...could anyone tell me how to go about it? I'm super interested in biotech companies too...but what kind of degrees do they usually prefer? I'm sure pharmacy school is one of them, but I'm not very interested in the pharmacist's job, per se. I'm a little new to pharmacy- I was initially thinking of medical but now I feel that pharmaceutical research scientist may be more suited to me :) Could anyone tell me about all the degrees related to pharmacy? And how to apply? And the jobs they get+ job outlook of each? Pharmacutical engineering? What are the options for a biochem/chemistry graduate- with a PhD, say? Do MDs work in biotech/pharma comp? Do they do any basic science research? What is the job outlook for them? I may have missed out a few points- so please feel free to contribute any info :) Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Get a PhD in some biochemical or drug discovery/design field. While the Pharm.D degree grants more pharmaceutical knowledge than other health professions, it is a healthcare field. The focus of a pharmacy degree is completely different from a research-based doctorate. If your goal is research, a PhD in a pharmaceutical science will always beat out Pharm.D.

Solo MD degrees are a bit more common in R&D fields than solo Pharm.D. degrees, but you'll definitely want to add a PhD to either if you are set on R&D.

Reactions: 1 user
Get a PhD in some biochemical or drug discovery/design field.