jblil

7+ Year Member
Dec 1, 2010
East Coast
I am currently in PT school, but have dozens of cousins who are pharmacists so I am interested in the field. I saw the post below today from a pharmacist, on another forum. After reading the thread, I have 2 questions:
1) Is it as bad as he makes it sound?
2) Does the poor guy have any chance? He's about to be let go because of low productivity.

"I'm a pharmacist reviewing orders for nursing homes. I need to review certain # of orders per hour. Some orders are problematic and require clarification from doctors or nurses. Some like pain meds are time consuming because they are critical and you don't want to overdose.

The younger pharmacists have no qualms skipping these kinds of orders. It's cherry picking and I say cheating because they are avoiding these orders to get their numbers high sacrificing patient care.. they are waiting around to pounce on big admissions (new patients coming into facilities with 15+ meds) that they can breeze through.. and even then not calling on clarification if needed..leave it for the next person to deal with angry nurses
."

The thread starts here: http://www.city-data.com/forum/work-employment/2224543-might-fired-soon-please-help.html

May 30, 2013
Status
Pharmacist
is the market as bad? just falsify a resume of a pharmacist with a few years of experience, then blast it on the internet and apply it everywhere you see a posting...in any area you want to live. see if you get any interest from employer. then you will see exactly how bad the market is. truth is, the market is worse than people make it to be on SDN.

May 30, 2013
Status
Pharmacist