Pharmacist maternity leave?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

swatchgirl

Exercise your brains out, so you don't get sick.
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a full-time staff pharmacist. This is my first pregnancy. I am currently 14 weeks and 2 days pregnant, just starting to show a small baby bump. My due date is May 18, 2018. When should I submit a request for maternity leave? How long does a maternity leave typically need to be? Does it all come out of the PTO bucket? I have 180 hours accumulated right now, is that enough or do I need more?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a full-time staff pharmacist. This is my first pregnancy. I am currently 14 weeks and 2 days pregnant, just starting to show a small baby bump. My due date is May 18, 2018. When should I submit a request for maternity leave? How long does a maternity leave typically need to be? Does it all come out of the PTO bucket? I have 180 hours accumulated right now, is that enough or do I need more?
You work for walgreens I assume. They will allow you to use your PTO and banked sick/vacation days if you have any. If all you have is 180 hours, you will need to take some unpaid time via FMLA. 180 hours is only 4 or 5 weeks, you are going to need at least 8 weeks off, ideally 12.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
if you were smart, u would publicly announce pregnancy and let HR know. why? that PIP plan don't mean jack until after you come back from maternity leave ;)

Reactions: 2 users
At my hospital you tell your friends first so they can get their vacation time approved before you submit for maternity leave and they all get blocked...

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Reactions: 6 users