Pharmacist resume writing: should you include license number?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Coffee_Fiend

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Would you recommend including your pharmacist license number on your resume/CV? I am a new pharmacy grad and recently became licensed and am looking for jobs, so I'm interested to know what the opinion is on this issue.
A quick google search brings up multiple articles that recommend adding your license and certification numbers to your resume/CV, for the purpose of making the hiring manager's job easier.
However, I'm also seeing those who are against adding it on due to privacy and security concerns.

I just checked my Board of Pharmacy website and I can find my own license number without even including the number in my search. So I am aware that it is publicly available information for those who know the relevant information about me. But with that being said, if it is that easy for a hiring manager to look up my license number without even knowing the number in the first place, why include it on a resume and make it that much easier for an ill-intentioned middle party to find?

What do you think? Do you include your license number, or do you just write "XYZ State" Pharmacist License?
Is it really necessary if your pharmacist license info is already included in your job application?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, you should include them all (all states, license number, issue date, next expiration date) in your CV. This is public information anyway, but it makes it easier to cross-check. On a resume, I would include the relevant license if it applies to the job you are asking for even if you are submitting your paper license anyway.

Reactions: 3 users
Put it on the resume
I did and I got a job

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)