pharmacy audit and invoice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZakMeister

RPh
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
How often have you guys seen Medicaid/Medicare or even commericial insurances ask for invoices as part of rx audits? In my very short experience so far I have gone through one Humana audit where they just basically looked at the validity and accuracy of rx's.

But then when we try to EXACTLY bill the ndc of the drug we actually dispense it makes me wonder if in audit some of those rare mismatches will be penalized..

Members don't see this ad.

Good question. I used to wonder this when FL Medicaid required stupid brand Adderall. Would they ever *really* know?

Then I remembered that I am a professional, not @Sparda29 ;)

Reactions: 1 users
I think this is done when a pharmacy is billing for expensive items and it's abnormal for their area. Pharmacies have been known to bill for things like expensive nutritional foods every month for patients with a $0 copay while never ordering the product.

Members don't see this ad :)
How often have you guys seen Medicaid/Medicare or even commericial insurances ask for invoices as part of rx audits? In my very short experience so far I have gone through one Humana audit where they just basically looked at the validity and accuracy of rx's.

But then when we try to EXACTLY bill the ndc of the drug we actually dispense it makes me wonder if in audit some of those rare mismatches will be penalized..
I’m gonna assume this is an independant pharmacy in which case this is a very common audit. They will look at your most billed most expensive rxs and look for discrepencies against your invoices. So if you billed 10 rxs of drug A you better have ordered that many as well.

Reactions: 1 user