Pharmacy Biochemistry

Discussion in 'Pharmacy' started by DoctorRx1986, May 11, 2008.

1. DoctorRx1986

Pharmacy Student
    As an incoming P1 student, I'd like to know what pharmacy biochemistry is like. As a pre-pharmacy student, general chemistry and organic chemistry courses focused on problem solving and using one reagent and reaction condition to get from product A to product B. This was the general format of questions in organic chem and general chem involved equations and math. Likewise, what exactly is biochem in pharmacy school like? Will it involve those types of questions involving figuring out the product to a reaction or what? Will it simply consist of learning about properties of biomolecules without actual questions similar to organic? I guess what I'm trying to say is whether pharmacy biochem is more of a problem-solving course such as the undergrad chemistry or more of a biology course involving memorization, understanding concepts, and not as much problem solving.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. patmcd

patmcd Senior Member
    Pharmacist

Pharmacist
    Its more about learning about cellular process (ie: respiration), cell structures, and receptor s.

4. mike36

Pharmacist
    Ours was heavy on enzyme mechanisms and metabolic pathways.

5. rxlynn

rxlynn Senior Member

Pharmacy Student
    Virtually no problems - very heavy on metabolism, cells, enzymes, etc.

6. fenixtnlfan

fenixtnlfan P2 Wildcat
    Moderator Emeritus

Pharmacy Student
    It probably depends how your school sets up biochem and the profs. I took the biochem taken by pharm students here because it was required for my major. The first half of the course was applied questions (what happens in this case, draw a graph, etc), but the second half was pure regurgitation of pathways and diseases (like enzyme A activates enzyme B and does this).

7. firefighter9015

firefighter9015 It's not THAT kind of study hour...