Pharmacy or Podiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stargyalny

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got into podiatry school as well as pharmacy school. I am very interested in both professions but I'm also considering job opportunities. Anyone care to share their thought about which one they would chose and why?

Members don't see this ad.

stargyalny said:
I got into podiatry school as well as pharmacy school. I am very interested in both professions but I'm also considering job opportunities. Anyone care to share their thought about which one they would chose and why?

Hi, I'm a pharmacy technician currently at CVS, so I can at least comment on that part of it. In some respects, retail pharmacy will not be nearly as hands-on as podiatry. (i.e. we rarely look at feet or other body parts, at least not on purpose) To me, it seems like the path to get a job once you get out of school might be a bit easier with pharmacy, especially if you wanted to do retail. Most of the podiatry practices in our area are not very large, so you might have to be involved in setting up your own practice and more of the business end of things if you were in podiatry. That might be good or not, depending on how you feel about it. I can't really comment on average salaries, but I'm sure you could get information about that pretty easily.

Good luck deciding!

rxlynn said: