Pharmacy student question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChasingMyDreams

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Quick question for you guys...I am a pharm student and I have had conversations with my med school friends, a couple from different schools, about how valuable a pharmacist on rounds (clinical pharmacist) is to them. They had differing opinions and one had never rounded with a pharmacist and thought we were just in the basement putting pills in bottles:eek: Do any of you have experience with pharm students on rotations? How valuable do you think a pharmacist on rounds on any service is? And how has your interaction with pharm students/ pharmacists been?

Members don't see this ad.

I find pharmacists on rounds incredibly helpful in the ICU settings. Often times these patients have needs that are unique and being able to sit down with the nurse and the pharmacist to map out doses and IV compatibilities makes my job much less frustrating. Certainly in the NICU it's even more important as their drug dosing and fluid balance doesn't follow what's typical everywhere else.

Our antimicrobial stewardship program is led by the pharmacists, and their work with doing the math with the vanc troughs/dosing makes life easier.

Even when I'm on services that don't have PharmD round with us, there are plenty of things that result in me calling the pharmacy for help - TPN, finding out what forms of a med we have on formulary, answering questions that LexiComp or Epocrates or Tarascon or whatever other reference is unclear on, etc, all very helpful.

Members don't see this ad :)