Pharmacy tech

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UICpremed

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those of you having experience with being a tech, i need some help.

I don't have any experience in pharmacy, but i am taking the PTCB this July and I'll get the results/cert a month later. I am 100% sure I'll pass. Now I am in a situation that I need a job that pays $12+ hr. working atleast 25 hrs. a week. Yeah, I am in financial trouble... my circumstances have changed.

The thing is can I get into a hospital directly, as I know they pay much better. I need a job now. I've already applied to several places over a month back but never heard from them. It says pharmacy experience is preferred or required in all of them. Telling them that I am enrolled for the PTCexam won't help I think, however having a cert will most def help, the thing is its not until 60+ days later that I get my cert.

I'll take whatever tips, help, advice I can get. thanks :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

Hey...that's a hard one...I'm a tech also and it took me a few months to get a job. Even with a cert, experience does matter to those that would like to hire you. Maybe working as a pharmacy clerk can help you stick that foot in the door, and after you get your cert, you can ask if they can start training you as a tech. Hope that helps.