Pharmacy Technician Training

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RxChick

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello I recently got a job at Walgreens as a pharmacy technician. I have no previous experience in a pharmacy. Infact no previous experience in any job. This is my first job. I have been there for about 6 days. The first day I filled all day. The next four days I was doing PPL's all day long so I never even stepped foot in the pharmacy. Yesterday was when I got to go in the pharmacy after the PPL's. There was so much information on the PPL's that my head is bursting with it and I don't even remember most of it. I need to make sense of it. So I expected some formal on the job training after PPL's. Instead they were just like "well you can just watch what everyone is doing and stuff". That was it. Except once in a while some tech would tell me what he is doing. Is that what is supposed to happen? Am I just expected to figure it all out by myself? It felt so awkward just standing around looking at what the other techs were doing. Is this how all you experienced techs felt too at first? I got to fill which kept me busy and made me feel like I was doing something useful. I got to answer like two or three phone calls but I spend a lot of time just looking around till new labels printed out to be filled or stock shelves or something. If it turns out that I am expected to figure it all out myself and learn on the job myself how long does it take to get accustomed to it. The fact that I have to learn by myself make sense though. But I hate the feeling that I don't know anything and I feel so useless just standing there. All I really know is to fill but I don't want to be limited to that. I do want to eventually learn all the other duties required of me. I am thinking that since no one is really giving me any formal training I should take the initiative and ask to try certain things when i