Pharmacy "tricks"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wazoodog

Pharmacist
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've sometimes wondered if pharmacists find themselves honing an offshoot skill that's borderline meaningless but entertaining. Professional soccer players get good at juggling a soccer ball, pro golfers get good at juggling a golf ball on the club head, drummers learn to spin drumsticks (just like students learn to spin pens) and do other interesting things with their thumbs. What about pharmacists - like trying to shake a 90 count bottle perfectly so exactly 10 or 30 pills slide out, or identifying just about every pill you pick up on the floor by memory of shape/imprint - is this a thing? For the record, I remember trying to do these when I worked in retail but gave up.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
For antibiotics for reconstitution, I dump the whole required volume of water in one go (except for ones with clavulanic acid)

• Haha
Members don't see this ad :)
I was at a Jack & Jill baby shower once and there was a contest to guess how many mini plastic baby bottles were in a jar. I thought to myself "hmm, those are almost the exact size of a Cartia-XT 180 mg capsule" and I guessed exactly correct, I think there were exactly 150 in the jar. People were literally guessing anything from 40 to 2,000.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
I do know a pharmacist who has an encyclopedic knowledge of drug images. She can guess what a pill is with insane accuracy.
More than an encyclopedic knowledge of P&T, this is what I've also wanted.

I can name all of the brand name palindromes - historical and current - in ten seconds.

I can report that this wasn't an effective pick up line during my youth. Except for the one who thought I was actually offering them some Xanax- they wouldn't leave me alone.

• Haha
Reactions: 4 users