PharmD vs DPT vs OD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jmnj06

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am in a turning point in my life, I just turned 30. I have my degree in clinical lab science and have been working in the hospital setting for over 7 years.

I want to ge out of the field and get into something new, I was looking into pharmacy, did not do so well on my PCATs, do not want to retake it. Been on the pharmacy forums and different people talking about the surplus so not sure if I want to go that route.

I have a friend who is a OD that works in a OMD office and he gets little to no respect, not sure if I want to take my OAT pursue a career with little respect.

I find that the PT profession has potential, but is it very difficult to get in like pharmacy? I don't think OD is very competitive either but the future potential does not look very good.

Members don't see this ad.

So I am in a turning point in my life, I just turned 30. I have my degree in clinical lab science and have been working in the hospital setting for over 7 years.

I want to ge out of the field and get into something new, I was looking into pharmacy, did not do so well on my PCATs, do not want to retake it. Been on the pharmacy forums and different people talking about the surplus so not sure if I want to go that route.

I have a friend who is a OD that works in a OMD office and he gets little to no respect, not sure if I want to take my OAT pursue a career with little respect.

I find that the PT profession has potential, but is it very difficult to get in like pharmacy? I don't think OD is very competitive either but the future potential does not look very good.