Phd or MD/Phd

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

caduceus27

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN
Its been a while since I posted something on this site, but its always nice to know that there is some place where you can ask questions and sometimes get good opinions and guidance. To start off I was graduated with a bachelors in biology with C's and B's and some A's in undergradute science courses. I graduated with a cumlative 3.2.( Im guess the science GPA would be much lower) I got some research experience in undergrad but not enough. I also had a situation in my life that prevented me to continue to pursue medical school. So I went on to receive a MSc. in Occupational therapy with a graduate GPA of a 3.7. I developed a passion for neuroscience and knew that I wanted to do research in the neurosciences, but also bridge the gap between the clinical and basic science which is translational research,since I see many patients with neurological disease. I am currently working as an Occupational therapist at Mayo Clinic. I am also participating in spinal cord injury research after work and during the weekends. I am currently working on applying to Phd programs, Mayo has a clincal and translational science program which I am very interested in, but with talking with many attending physicians and Phds people tell me I should go for a career in medicine. Now I know the difference between having a Phd and an MD, one is more research oriented and the other is obviously clinical, but I dont want to go to straight MD for financial reasons and I dont want to be in debt for the rest of my life. So I think an MD/Phd is a better option instead of a straight MD.So here are my questions.