PhD thinking of in house MSTP switch

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lswat33

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm a short time lurker and I am really nervous about posting, but here it goes!
My oldest mentor growing up was a physician (psychiatry), and so a career in medicine has always been something in the back of my mind. I had a rough go in my first two years of undergrad (lack of maturity) that dissuaded me from the premed track at a NESCAC. My sophomore year, however, I fell in love with the work my adviser was doing in the BNS department, and that convinced me that medical research was a practical way for me to stay in the game, so to speak.

I graduated with a 3.44 (3.51 sGPA) in psychology, and went to HES for post-bacc classes (ochem, biochem, and molecular bio: two A-'s, a B+, and a B respectively) as I applied to a PhD program. I also was working at one of the big Pharma in Cambridge during the time too, which really sold me on translational research- not just doing science for the sake of doing science. I've just started my first year in my PhD program (biomedical sciences), I haven't shadowed, taken the MCAT, or taken physics, but I think I should pursue some volunteering and/or shadowing at the hospital (its a medical university), because I think that while I like science, I would really love the combination of clinical science and translational research.

I am 24 years old, I have extensive UG volunteering in mental health associated clubs and working with under served kid's. I also was a four year varsity swimmer, if that helps any.

Any suggestions for how I should approach my situation? Are there people who I could be talking with about this that could help me frame the process for myself? Am I too late / do I not have the grades? Any advise would be awesome-sauce!
Thanks for any and all criticism / help!

Members don't see this ad.