PhD'er seeks advice about pursuing MSTP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medical Whore

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

First of all, this is a great forum and I'm glad to have found it. I've read many posts and you guys have given great advice. I'm hoping you can do the same for me.

I come to you seeking advice regarding my desire to become a physician-scientist. I'm currently a first year PhD student at University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. The first year has been going great and am glad that I chose to come to a health center as great as Umich. However, recently I have been feeling increasingly unsure of my decision to pursue a career in strictly the sciences. In the past, I have flirted with the idea of pursuing a career in medicine but was never serious about it, because I was just another dolt drifting through college who wasn't sure of his future plans. Fortunately, I had a couple of great experiences in several biomedical research labs and that is utlimately what brought me here. But in the first year already, I've been feeling more and more of a disconnect between my studies and the patients. This has been intensified by the fact that both PIs I have rotated under thus far are physician-scientists who I've shadowed multiple times. Needless to say, my shadowing experiences have only augmented my desire to pursue a career in medicine on top of science. Lastly, MSTP students I've rotated with or interact with seem to have a leg up on the material and just a broader knowledge base that I could not get otherwise without medical school. I will admit that I am envious that this profession allows you to do it all and the path that I've opted to travel down won't allow me to. Please don't mistake me, I love the field I'm in now, but I feel as though I am selling myself short by keeping strictly to the sciences.