Philly Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

parmed

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I just wanted to start a thread comparing/discussing the philly programs: penn, jeff, temple. I went to them all and plan to rank them all, but since my interviews were a while ago, I thought it would be nice to refresh myself with other peoples' opinions. I'm especially concerned with the following characteristics:
1)quality of teaching/teachers
2)exposure to outpt msk/obtainability of msk-related fellowships
3)atmosphere - are the residents happy with their program and each other
4)reputation -- I know temple is far more reputed, but are jeff and penn "up and coming" as they say
5) well-roundedness of exposure/education - I want to learn as much as I can and as best as I can while I am a resident - also are these programs helpful/resourceful if a resident wants to learn alternative therapies such as acupuncture?

I"m sure other people are trying to figure out how to rank these 3 programs so it would be a great thing to discuss.

Looking forward to hearing what everyone has to say.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a pgy-3 at Jefferson Rehab:

Here is my two cents:

1. quality teaching, probably the best part of the program. here are some of the faculty:

At Jefferson, in PM&R: we work closely with Bryan Oneill, a tremendous bedside (stroke, sci, amputee) and outpt myofascial pain teacher (teaches at City wide emg course).

Gerald Herbison teaches anatomy (yearly lecture/worshop/focused cadaver dissection) and emg, tremendous teacher, regularly teaches at academy meetings (teaches at city wide EMG).