Physical Therapy Education for Inmates

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Aegis

Primary Care and Aerospace
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a primary care physician that works in a super-maximum security prison. The facility is unique, and the only one of it's kind in the country. The inmates are confined to their cells, alone for 23 hours/day. Each inmate has a TV in their room, and we recently acquired equipment to program our own health services channel. I've figured out a way to extract videos from youtube and I'm currently trying to compile a days worth of programming for a variety of health related topics.

So I wanted to ask the PT community if you have any recommendations for PT education, either rehab or injury prevention that is readily available online that you would recommend me programming. Due to the extraordinary security concerns of some of these guys (think the worst of the worst) they cannot go to the free world for PT and I need to do a lot in-house. Anything helps.

If you would even like to be more involved with this project please PM me.

Members don't see this ad.

First question that came to mind was whether or not any of your inmates have access to PT services at all? Does the facility employ a PT? A point of education I thought of initially would be some material about what PTs actually do and the broad range of conditions we treat. But since I assume many of these individuals will be in prison for most or all of their lives, exposing them to what kind of PT services are available within the prison system (even at lower security levels if none are available at yours) would be more beneficial that education regarding the field in general.

Also facebook groups for PTs are much more active than this forum. You will get a lot more good responses there.