Picking an internship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VSGK99

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a vet student entering my 4th year and interested in pursuing a small animal rotating internship post grad(maybe more). I have no particular ties, and am hoping a year of internship will help me to decide if I want to try pursue a residency. At this point, if I could choose my ‘dream job’ it would be returning to academia, so I’m mostly considering academic institutions. Does anyone feel their school has a particularly strong program, or have suggestions about how to begin paring down the large number of possibilities?

Members don't see this ad.

I've been told by several people who should know that an academic internship is preferable if you're planning on doing a residency. So that's a good place to start at least. Plus, some private practice internships are really just cheap labor for the clinic and your continued education may not be a priority. As for the individual schools, I can't speak to any program being better than others. As far as I know, they're pretty similar. But there are other things to consider, for example the cost of living where you'll be. Most internships pay similar salaries, but that money won't go nearly as far in NYC as it might in, say, Ames. You also might have a favorite professor/clinician or resident who has changed schools who might be worth following. I personally know and am very fond of two clinicians who are moving to UGA and that is definitely a factor in my decision-making.