Pikeville students?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Polyphasic007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a premedical student narrowing down my list of DO schools to apply to. I have about 5 schools I'm interested in, including Pikeville (which I like because of the low tuition), but this message I read really scared me:

//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
PCSOM is a failing school. It is a possibility the new dean can fix the problems in the next 5-10 years.

My next question is, if PCSOM is such a wonderful school, a splendid student oriented staff why have they lost 50% of their teaching staff this past year. BTW the teaching staff quit they were not fired or left under pressure.

I have heard from a first year, well now she is a second year, the newly elected clinical ass't dean is Dr. Litman. This guy should not even be allowed in a class room. He maybe a good physician, but has the educational value of a stone. Oh yea, they are hiring somone from up north to take over the class work, maybe someone will finall learn omt. (FYI if he did not figure it out yet, the reason most folks did so well during his first 2 years is the fellows gave to answers on the test for the asking)

another news alert, the school has been thinking of moving off campus. Yup, they want to leave pikeville college, it seems the pcsom wants a bigger cut of the tuition. as it was told to me "we want to stop the flood of funds crossing the bridge in the wrong direction"

gosh guys, get it together, try to find one histo prof, you had a good one and let them go. Now the school uses the pharm/patho and other assorted instructors who don't hold degrees in histo to teach this class.........

sorry guys, before you say you have a GREAT school, fix it first...
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////