Pitt vs. Slippery Rock

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

breexox

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently an undergrad at Pitt. I'm pretty confident that I could get into Pitt for DPT; however, the tuition at Slippery Rock is so much cheaper. But Pitt is supposed to be such a good program... I love Pitt and would absolutely love to spend more time here for my DPT but I would graduate with probably 150k in loans including undergrad.

I know this topic has been covered a few times but I'm hoping someone could offer some specific insight based on these two schools. Slippery Rock is accredited and everything so does it really matter which one I choose? The other thing about Slippery Rock is that I like that you can decide to do your clinicals anywhere, including abroad. At Pitt, you are forced to work with UPMC.

People on here generally say that it doesn't matter where you go, just go to the cheaper one and pass your exam. I'd just like to know if there is some great disparity between an education like Pitt's and one like Slippery Rock's?

Members don't see this ad.

First, there is an opportunity for a clinical abroad during your second summer at Pitt.