Plastic Surgery in the US

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Shady27

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hey Guys,

I'm a med student from Canada in the process of trying to narrow down specialties (sooooo hard) before booking electives. I was looking at Plastics programs in the US and was looking for some clarification regarding:

1. Is plastics in the US only done through integrated programs (gen surg + plastics

2. Are there any 5 year plastics programs in the US?

My apologies if this stuff has already been posted.

Cheers,

Shady

Winged Scapula

Cougariffic!
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I'm a med student from Canada in the process of trying to narrow down specialties (sooooo hard) before booking electives. I was looking at Plastics programs in the US and was looking for some clarification regarding:

1. Is plastics in the US only done through integrated programs (gen surg + plastics

No. The vast majority are Independent programs where you train in General Surgery and apply to Plastics as a 4th year resident to start PRS training after completion of your surgical training.

The Integrated programs are a relatively new phenomenon and are amongst the most competitive residencies in the US, if not THE most competitive.

2. Are there any 5 year plastics programs in the US?

UTSW was although I've heard rumor they are phasing this out and will be going to 6 years.

My apologies if this stuff has already been posted.

Cheers,

Shady

Apology accepted, although you might consider utilizing the search function for such common questions.

maxheadroom

Rhinestone Cowboy
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
No. The vast majority are Independent programs where you train in General Surgery and apply to Plastics as a 4th year resident to start PRS training after completion of your surgical training.