calisoca

10+ Year Member
Aug 29, 2008
Status
Pharmacy Student
I Need some serious advice. I want to go to pharmacy school but my overall GPA is a 2.56. I just quit my job and i want to dedicate the next 2-3 years trying to raise my GPA and obtain entrance to a pharmacy program. I graduated from UC Davis and majored in biochemistry in 2007. After graduation i worked for a major pharmaceutical company and was inspired to go to pharmacy school. The reason my gpa is so low is that i did really bad my freshman and sophomore year. I did well in upper level biology courses. I don't know if i should do a masters program in biology or i should just repeat courses. I was thinking of repeating the general math and science courses and doing a 1 year masters program. I would need over 60 units to raise my gpa over a 3.0. What do you guys think? i would ask a counselor but they always intimidate me...

thanks
UCD grad here as well. Had a 2.8 after my first year. Graduated as a 5th year: Got 4 interview requests and I'll be attending pharm school in the Fall of '09. Just depends on how much you want it.

Sounds like your first 2 years are slappin' your nut sac. Retake the classes that are holding you down. Do not ever give up. Persistance is the key. Good luck.

Storm90

Accepted Pharmacy Student
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Oct 5, 2008
Canada
Status
Pharmacy Student
Not to mention some programs offer grade forgiveness and/or will consider your higher grade if you retake a course.

About the Ads
C

CaliforniaKid

Thanks, thats great to know. I've heard of one program in nevada that does that. anyone know of any others? thanks

evilolive

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Jan 1, 2006
Status
Pharmacy Student