Please Help Me Before I Get Dismissed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

helpmeplease2323

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a student at a US MD school. I have passed all my classes the first two years without any interruptions. I was supposed to take step 1 2 months ago but due to family issues I was not able to stay focused to prepare. My school is now pretty much forcing me to take a one year LOA and get my life back together, take step 1 and join the next class. I have already received notification of being automatically dismissed if I do not take action. I am basically trying to ask how this medical leave of absence will be viewed by PDs in the future. I did talk to a mentor at my school who told me to try to convince the school to make it into a "research year" rather than a "medical leave".

The impression I have got from my Student Affairs office is that they don't want me to do that since I haven't taken step 1 (even though my mentor told me he specifically knows two students in my class who are in a similar situation that are taking a research year). I wanted to run this all by you all to see if you had any thoughts about what the best course of action for me would be and how this will impact me in the future. Other than the mentor wanting me to try for a research year, which I doubt they will approve of, I get the feeling that my Student Affairs office does not have my best interest in mind and wants to quickly get the medical LOA paperwork taken care of and have me move on (it is an easier process at our school since a medical LOA doesn't have to go through another committee). Thank you very much for your time and any help.

Members don't see this ad.

Worse than a leave of absence is a "research year" that clearly wasn't a research year and you're lying about it. Be careful

Reactions: 1 user