Please help! Not sure about DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

djidjie

Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I want to apply this cycle but I have not taken the DAT yet. I am having a dilemma on what to do. I am currently scheduled to take the DAT in early June and started seriously studying for it today. I just finished school and I am taking a break from work. I had been "studying" a few weeks before today but I am a full-time student and also work and take care of my family. I did not really have much time. So my studying was like 1 hour a day when I had time and I mostly forgot what I had been trying to study. I have a high GPA, good activities outside of school, and have my letters of recommendation. I am just not sure if I will have time to be ready to take the DAT by early June. But, I am afraid if I move my DAT to July it will be too late. Even though I have good numbers and extracurriculars, my dream school would probably be UCLA (I am out of state) and there are tons of incredible applicants I don't think I am outstanding or special. I am afraid taking the DAT in July would make my chances super low as it probably won't be verified until august. I could just keep my June date but for that, I am afraid of getting a bad score or a low score. I don't know I have been thinking about this all day and kind of going crazy. I would appreciate any advice or help.

Members don't see this ad.

July isn’t really late. The better score is definitely worth it imo

Reactions: 1 user
Are you using a program to study(I needed one)? How long do you plan to study per day? What methods are you using?

We don't know when your DAT is. If it's early June, then it'd definitely make sense to move it IF you make a solid plan for the extra time.