Please judge my EC's!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

John Snow

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a junior about to apply this cycle and was a little concerned about my lack of non clinical hours. I have only like 20 volunteer tutoring hours. To give you a little background on my other stuff, I'm an RA, an SI instructor (a tutor, but paid), a peer mentor for my college, a committee head for a health organization on campus, a member of a few honor societies ( one is Phi Kappa Phi), and have worked in two research labs, one at Johns Hopkins SOM which I'm still working in (total 4months when I apply). I also have 120 hospital volunteer hours. For my GPA stats, I have a 3.8 science and a 3.9 nonscience and I haven't taken the MCAT yet. I'm mainly worried about by lack of volunteer work. I'm a Maryland resident and hope to go to UMB, so do you think that will hurt me for any schools on the east coast? Thanks for all the input!

Members don't see this ad.

Beef up the patient contact experience. You could try nursing homes, disables kid's camps, hospice...there's plenty of opportunities. Try Habitat for Humanity as well.