Please teach me how to invest

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

UGAZ

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pharmacist currently working 2 jobs with gross income around 200K. I have a family with 3 kids and a wife , and my wife stopped working since last year because we have baby. Currently my financial status is as followed:

1. Debt: student loan : 50K left. Mortgage 380K left
2. Assets: House with Zillow value at 800K. 401K : 50K.

What would you do if you are in my shoes. Stock and housing market are at all time high now...Should I leverage out and buy more properties and rent out? Or just try to pay off as much debt as possible?

Members don't see this ad.

Make sure you're maxed out on 401K contributions (you can generally contribute $18,500 per year if you're a W2 employee). If you get 1099 income, consider opening a solo 401K and contributing there as well. Do backdoor Roth contributions for you and your wife (11K per year). Then make sure you have an adequate emergency fund (recommendation is 3-6 months of expenses, not including retirement contributions or savings) in a relatively liquid state (high yield savings account, laddered CDs, etc). Since you have kids, you might consider opening 529s for each of them as well and contribute monthly to those.

After that, opinions vary. I'm debt averse, so I'd pay down student loans first, then work on getting rid of the mortgage (my mom is in 'retirement' and has 3 mortgages she hasn't paid off, so lives from paycheck to paycheck and started working for Lyft to pay her bills--I don't want to be that person). Others would pay off student loans and then look at taxable stock market contributions. Others would pay the minimum on debts and get another property. You should do whatever works best for your family.

Reactions: 1 user