Pleasee Help with postbacc or masters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tibzgurl

tibzgurl
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I graduated with the BS in Biochemistry and didn't do so well in undergrad. Ended up with 2.68 BCMP Amcas gpa. My cumulative GPA is 3.05 with 25 MCAT. I am not sure if i will benefit more from a postbacc program or from a special or traditional masters program. I am from the midwest and it is my dream to go to med school. I am not sure if i can get into any of the SMP's or masters with my MCAT and GPA. Any comments? or help will be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Do the Post-bacc.

The masters doesn't fix your undergrad GPA, and you need to get that up. Use the post-bacc to really develop your BCPM abilities for an MCAT retake as well.

Honestly, it's going to take some work to get the GPA up, so expect to work on it for more than a year. Also, MCAT retake scores don't move very much, in general, so you will really need to work hard to revise for that. Take your time and slog your guts out.

You may be disadvantaged if you get a better MCAT and the scores are averaged.... You need to aim for 30+, so you might need 35+, which is a really big jump.

Not all schools average MCATs and you don't need a 35. Aim for at least a 30. With a low GPA it is much better to have a high MCAT but it is not an absolute necessity.

I feel the Ugrad GPA is too low to apply to an SMP, plus SMPs will help you less bringing up the MCAT, which like tibzgurl said, needs to be retaken. Go the post-bac route and raise the BCMP GPA and maybe later consider the SMPs

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi all,