post bac at community college

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

topolm

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I have a BS degree in chemical engineering and want to apply to med school. have a 3.15 gpa overall, 2.9 science gpa. I have taken none of the required bio classes, statistics etc. In short, I need to take between 6-9 classes :eek: to complete my premed requirement. Would medical schools care if a prospective took these courses at a community college? I am looking at Northern virginia community college. Besides, my che grades were not stellar, and these bio grades could pull up my science gpa right? Chemistry/math is all taken care of. Did well in them.

Thankyou in advance

Members don't see this ad.

topolm:

Glad to see another engineering students apply medical school.

Anyway, I think that it is ok to take premedical in Community college, at least in Texas. Since we have common courses matching, CC college courses match exact with university course numbers.

Your GPA is a little bit low, probably because you graduate from an engineering school. Need to pull that baby up to 3.6 to be competitive with MD schools, 3.4 to be competitive with DO schools.

Just a commentary here. It is really suck to graduate from an engineering school (i.e. bad GPA) for Medical school purpose since engineering school doesn't have grade inflation. I went to a top five engineering school as undergraduate. I finished top TEN (graduate with high honor) in my class of 200 students, yet I only made 3.54 GPA. Had I majored in Science, I probably has much higher GPA. Oh well, let's pray I score well on April MCAT. It is only a month away.

ive asked this question on here before and the majority of people think its a bad idea taking them at a CC because med schools weight CC classes as being weaker than unviersity level courses regardless of whether this is true or not.