post-bac year vs. just taking science classes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

knh39

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I've recently made the decision that I want to follow a long-time dream and go to med school. I'm a semi non-traditional student, as I'm 24 now and will likely be 26 or 27 by the time I start med school (assuming that I get in on my first round of apps). Problem is, my undergrad GPA is really bad- I graduated from a top state school in 2009 with a 2.9 GPA overall with a BA in Sociology, and a science GPA of somewhere in the 2.0 range. I have no excuses- I was a varsity athlete and in a sorority and just concerned with everything but classes. I somehow managed to get myself into grad school, and am in my last semester of finishing my MPH with a GPA of 3.7. I have a lot of experience working in medical offices, volunteer work, and a paper in the process of being published. I know I need to get my GPA up and rock the MCATs to even have a chance- question is- is it really preferable to do a post-bac year, or is it ok to just take a sequence of science classes? I took A+P I, A+P II and Microbio at my local community college, with a GPA of 3.95. I've been offered admission to a post-bac program at a well-known, private (read-expensive) university. I'm just concerned that it may not be worth shelling out the $28,000 tuition for the program, when I can pay ~$800/class. Input? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

It really depends on what the post-bac program can offer you that just taking more classes can't.