Post-Bacc after Change in Plans?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nash09

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background on me:
I was a Biology major in undergrad (3.03 cGPA) who didn’t get into vet school the first time around. I did ROTC in college, so because I didn’t get into school I chose to go active duty. While in, I realized that I could take more upper level science classes and improve my last 45 GPA for those schools that look at graduate grades by completing a Masters (plus it would allow me to complete everything online - no labs yay) so I began a MS in Biology that I will be finishing this fall. I figured I would do a Masters, retake the few prereqs that I needed to retake (Physics and Biochem) and then apply in the 2022-2023 application cycle, as I am leaving the military this fall as well.
Well, my fiancée recently learned that she got her DREAM Army job (yes we are dual-military for the time being lol) at West Point. I decided that it means more to me to go with her to NY so that we can be together, rather than rushing to still try to apply and then be long distance again for 3 years if I managed to get in somewhere.

All that to say, I am thinking now about doing some sort of post-bac while we are in NY (looking at the NYC area), because by the time I am planning to now apply (2025-2026 cycle) my undergrad prereqs will be 9-12 years old at the time of potential matriculation. Additionally, my undergrad science GPA wasn’t super high to begin with...

TL; DR: Would it make sense to do a post-bac to replace prereqs that will likely be too old by the time I am planning to apply (and also increase grades)? If so, are there benefits to a structured post-bac program vs the DIY route?

Members don't see this ad.