Postbac application help -- essay and relevant experience?

Discussion in 'Postbaccalaureate Programs' started by antipova, Aug 5, 2011.

1. antipova

Hi all, newbie here. I've looked through the archives to see if someone else has asked this question before, but I didn't find exactly what I was looking for, so here goes...

I just graduated college this past June (English/East Asian studies major), and after some prolonged soul-searching that I won't delve into here, I've realized I want to apply to some premed postbac programs and be a doctor. My GPA was 3.77 and my SAT scores were 800/740/800 (V/M/W) so I think my stats are decent, and I haven't taken any of the premed requirements.

So I'm wondering: what exactly are programs looking for in the essay besides motives for applying? I'm currently flirting with pursuing psychiatry; is it necessary to mention this interest, even if there's a chance I'll change my mind down the road? Also, I was a research assistant with my school's psychology department for two years, but I have no relevant medical/scientific research experience. Would this hurt me in the application process?

Thanks for the help.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. betterlate

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Hi Antipova:

Number one, I think you should touch base with the premed advisor and/or the alumni career counseling center at your alma mater. They will hopefully be able to offer you some concrete assistance (including editing a personal statement) with your application to postbacc programs.