Practice Question - pondering change

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SpinDktr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a practicing psychiatrist, currently doing 100% outpatient. I also have a fellowship in geriatric psychiatry, but currently I am just doing general adult work.

I have been doing this for about 5 years or so, and although I still like most of what I am doing, I am getting frustrated with some of the aspects of it. Most of it has to do with management issues; I have not had any luck with talking with them so far. It is a long drive. Also, I am getting a little burned out with the accumulation of needy axis II's. I know it comes with the territory, but I guess this has started me looking at other positions.

The big question I have is that I have been looking at an inpatient, geriatric psychiatry position. However, my non-compete clause clause states has a 25 mile radius, and it is 18 miles away. Honestly they are night and day practices, but I am very interested in it. It seems much more like what I envisioned myself doing.

Is this worth looking at? Has anyone ever tried to negotiate out of a non-compete clause? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Depends on the relationship you have with your employer, I'd say. I'd consider discussing it with them and see if they will work with you if at all possible. If they are uncompromising and you really must move on I'd get a free consultation with an employment law attorney in your state. Most good attorneys will do this and give good initial advice and then be available should you need him or her later for any actual legal proceedings.

Sometimes if your employer won't work with you, a mention from you in passing that you have discussed the issue with representation causes nastier employers to suddenly mind their manners. This worked for me before. If that doesn't work your attorney could then write a stern letter for a fee.