sidewalkman

15+ Year Member
Jun 11, 2004
I am. 99% chance I'll be at Harvard Extension in the fall. I got rejected from Penn and accepted to Temple (second degree) last year. This year, I'll just be signing up a la carte at HES and opting out of an application process. There are so many advantages to going the informal (and cheap) route, especially for dental.

Mackchops

Toothy grin
15+ Year Member
Dec 9, 2003
San Antonio
www.uthscsa.edu
Status
Dentist
I'm pre-dent and have been accepted to UMass boston. Right now I'm waiting to hear from Tufts and Brandeis (Brandeis is cool because it's a graduate program so you're eligable for graduate fin aid -- not this fifth-year bull...) Sure they're expensive programs but the way I see it I graduated from a well-respected liberal arts college where it would appear I didn't have the ability to do well. I want to limit any doubt adcoms may have to the possibility of my success in post-bac being a fluke so I need to ROCK my classes at a school that is recognized for being a similar academic challenge. Besides, if you live on a quarter of a dentist's salary for a few years you can knock out your loans pretty easily... just don't expect to live a dentist's life-style right out of your board exams.

-Mack

danala78

10+ Year Member
Jan 4, 2005
Philadelphia
Status
One of my dentist friends who went to Penn dental (he's in a graduate dental program at Temple now) told me to forget about Penn's post bac program and to go to a community college! He told me that I just need to get really good grades so I should go where it's cheap to take classes.

I was very surprised. I've been thinking about applying to various post bac programs in Philly for almost 3 months now!