1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Pre-med Requirements and AP

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by samyjay, Sep 7, 2002.

  1. samyjay

    samyjay Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I have a question about the premed reqs. I was filling out the secondary for the Medical College of Wisconsin and as i was filling out the physics section, they said all the course work had to be graded, and AP does not count. This in turn leaves me with only 5.4 units (i am on the quarter system), which sucks, because most schools allowed AP as a premed requirement. I took AP physics C in High School, and passed out of Mechanics, but now some schools dont allow it?! Has this happened to anyone else, and is there a way around it? Thanks
     
  2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

  3. guitarguy

    guitarguy Member
    15+ Year Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    1
    Status:
    Attending Physician
    Isn't it crummy how these schools are basically punishing students who used their ap credits to pass out of the science courses? Their requirments are posted clearly on their website, and it seems like they don't accept ap credits for physics. If you are really interested in attending this school, try calling their office or writing a letter explaining your situation and perhaps they will then consider your application. I've heard of other schools, like SLU, which also do not accept ap credit for the core science classes.
     
  4. mystic_b

    mystic_b Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I'm in the same boat here. Still haven't figured out what to do exactly. And it's not that we didn't take any physics in college - we just didn't take a full-year's worth. I think that taking higher level physics above what we placed out of should count for the requirement, and most schools agree with this, but there are just a few problem schools that won't accept it. Anybody know if they'll accept physical chemistry for part of the physics requirement? Not p-chem for bio majors - the real deal - quantum, stat mech, thermo?
     
  5. samyjay

    samyjay Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Medical Student
    I just talked to the admissions guy at MCW and he said that all i would have to do is substitute a higher level physics course before August 1 of next year. This really sucks how some schools take AP and some dont. Do you guys know what other schools take NO AP credit for the pre-med requirements? Thanks
     
  6. heelshmeel

    heelshmeel Tar Heel Bred
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah... I know that hopkins does not take ap credit for the bio classes... but you're right.... I've also heard that there are schools that want you to have taken 6 credit hours of English... so if you place out through ap or a placement exam... you're screwed again...
     
  7. CRAZYTERP

    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Status:
    Resident [Any Field]
    Hey GuitarGuy,
    I am not sure you're right about SLU. I passed out of Gen Chem with AP's and SLU still gave me an interview. I think there has to be something that can be done to get around this rule. Especially bc there are tons of people like myself who just graduated and cannot take core bio classes anymore.
     
  8. mvervaine

    mvervaine Senior Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    1
    UCLA doesn't...but i know that schools have been known to take students regardless of whether or not their requirements have been met. granted, usually they ask you to substitute with a higher level class, or, if you used AP physics credit (for example) you need to compensate by scoring high on the PS section of the mcat. this is so they know you're not 1) lazy and 2) incompetent in that subject.
     
  9. SMW

    SMW Grand Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    3,760
    Likes Received:
    1
    I passed out of 1 class of gen chem and 1 of English, and out of 12 interviews and 5 acceptances (one of which was SLU), no one ever said a word about it to me. Many schools will accept a writing intensive non-english course to fulfill the English requirement.
     
  10. nero

    nero Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    1
    U of Miami wants grades for all pre reqs.....i ended up taking chem II as a junior to fill this requirement.............i TA for this class...talk about akward having to be a student in it..

    nero.
     
  11. PrincessCKNY

    PrincessCKNY Crown Royal Member
    7+ Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    19
    UCLA and UCD do not take AP credit either. As a result, I am taking the class I received AP credit for (calculus) at a JC. I have called and there seems to be no way to get around it.

    It blows how they pretty much punish you for being an over-achiever at a young age. I swear...what's the point of the whole system then, if they fail to recognize the credits earned??:mad:
     

Share This Page