Mar 18, 2010
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
Hello, I'm new to this forum, so I thought I should get accustomed to a place that can help me with my pharmacy questions. I am currently a first year student in college, and I'm attending a JC in San Luis Obispo. A couple questions that I have been thinking about were what's an average gpa (total gpa or major gpa?) to some popular pharmacy schools in CA, like Loma Linda, UoP, UCSF, and UCSD? Is "lower" a huge drawback for acceptance? And how difficult is it to get some experience in the pharmacy field, is there any minimum knowledge or schooling to get an internship? I have other questions, but I figure I can ask them at a more appropriate time since im only a first year student.

koercive

Industry HE&OR, Large Cap Pharma
Partner Organization
10+ Year Member
Apr 12, 2005
New Jersey
www.pharmapplicants.com
Status
Pharmacist
Hello, I'm new to this forum, so I thought I should get accustomed to a place that can help me with my pharmacy questions. I am currently a first year student in college, and I'm attending a JC in San Luis Obispo. A couple questions that I have been thinking about were what's an average gpa (total gpa or major gpa?) to some popular pharmacy schools in CA, like Loma Linda, UoP, UCSF, and UCSD? Is "lower" a huge drawback for acceptance? And how difficult is it to get some experience in the pharmacy field, is there any minimum knowledge or schooling to get an internship? I have other questions, but I figure I can ask them at a more appropriate time since im only a first year student.
You should try to transfer to a 4-yr university to improve your chances of acceptance. You can get into some pharmacy schools without a bachelor's degree, but it is becoming increasingly more difficult. GPA is only one aspect of your admissions profile, but I would say shoot for a 3.5 and up.

PharmCAS has average GPAs of accepted students. The site I run PharmApplicants has acceptance stats of pharmacy school students.