Pre-Studying For Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aali610

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I've searched the threads and pretty much what everyone is saying is don't prestudy for medical school, focus on MCATs, EC, enjoy your summer, etc...

I've recently been accepted into med school (VCOM 2016 awww yeah :D) and now I have an entire year to chillllll. That being said I managed to work out my schedule so I'm taking ~12 credits this semester and next, largely non-related classes to my major (90% finished) just stuff I always wanted to take (aka JOKE classes) and next and still gonna be able to graduate on time. Usually I take 19-21 so I'm seriously bored right now. I'm going to be taking Biochemistry this Spring because the med students I've talked to thus far said it would be helpful.

I'm I'm majoring in Immunology/Microbiology and I have a pretty solid background in cell bio, immuno, genetics, etc. So are there any other subjects you guys would recommend learning, or brushing up on? In particular are there any books you would recommend?

Again, I know people say to just relax but I have a whole year and way too much time on my hands. I'm going to be in school anyways, so I'd like to get a head start!

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Find something fun to do. Volunteer, hang out with friends and family, take weekend trips...whatever it is, just do something that makes you feel good.

Members don't see this ad :)
So I've searched the threads and pretty much what everyone is saying is don't prestudy for medical school, focus on MCATs, EC, enjoy your summer, etc...