Veterinary Pre-vet application advice - feeling a little worried

Status
Not open for further replies.

TMP-SMX

Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

So I am applying for Veterinary School this upcoming cycle (2019) and I really want to get in on my first try but I am having some doubts. Here's a bit of info I can offer:

I graduated with an AA degree at the age of 18 (actually before my high school diploma if we're being technical). My cum. GPA is super low (2.8 at the moment), and my science is even worse. Last 45 credits is so far a 1.5.

Earlier last year my brother was a mass shooting survivor and it was a tough time for our family (resulting in a C in Orgo and the rest Bs and one A). A couple of months after the shooting we found out that he was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer (literally a month into the FALL 2018 semester). I was spending most of my days in the hospital, and overall, it was the worst time of my family's life. I had no option but to push through it, as I would lose two of my major scholarships to university if I had "dropped" or "withdrawn" from my classes. This resulted in my first ever F in Orgo 2, and a D in Cell and Molec, as well as a semester GPA of 1.5.

I worked at an animal hospital in Kennel for 5 months (my brother got diagnosed and I had to leave the job), but I actually worked super close with the Vets. (642 hours total)

I have a letter of recommendation from the Medical Director and Head Veterinarian at this hospital, the Undergraduate Department Chair for Sciences at my university, a physics professor, a piano professor, and another veterinarian.

I am in multiple clubs at school and is in their Honors College. I had a spot reserved in their D.O. school but dropped it to focus and pursue Veterinary medicine, and I also founded a free live tutoring service for Coptic children and adults pre-k to Bachelor's level.