PinklhmD

10+ Year Member
Nov 17, 2008
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
I am currently a fourth year med student and just found out I'm pregnant, 5 weeks. It looks like I will be due around July...just in time to start my residency in pediatrics. My fiance is in the military and comes into town only on the weekends. And will actually be overseas for six months or so. We obviously didn't plan this!!!! Anyone have advice on child care? How do you work out child care with call hours? And what kind of financial commitment should I expect? Any and all advice would be welcome. I'm feeling pretty nervous...:confused:

TexasRose

Gotta run
Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 24, 2002
where else?
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
I am currently a fourth year med student and just found out I'm pregnant, 5 weeks. It looks like I will be due around July...just in time to start my residency in pediatrics. My fiance is in the military and comes into town only on the weekends. And will actually be overseas for six months or so. We obviously didn't plan this!!!! Anyone have advice on child care? How do you work out child care with call hours? And what kind of financial commitment should I expect? Any and all advice would be welcome. I'm feeling pretty nervous...:confused:
First of all, congratulations. :)

Second of all, what kind of help do you have? Family in town? Residency presents a few problems because childcare is expensive (~$200/wk), residency hours are not always aligned with childcare hours (often 6 or 7am to 6pm), and you can't expect a baby to be in daycare for the same number of hours as you may work (up to 80/week).

If you had family or someone else who could help you, that would be a lifesaver.

Lots and lots of women have kids in residency, so don't feel alone. Hopefully someone with younger kids will be able to answer you here as well. (I have kids, but they are older and don't require childcare anymore.)