Quantcast

Prehospital care

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

plank

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a fourth year student doing an emergency medicine elective at SUNY Downstate. As part of the elective, they require that we have an "EMS experience." When I called the EMS base to set up the appointment, the man on the phone asked if my ridealong was for ALS or BLS. I paused (having no idea what that meant) and again informed him that I am a medical student doing an ER elective at Downstate. He sighed in frustration and asked again if it was for ALS or BLS. I responded with a prolonged, "uhhh." He then said, "are you supposed to be with an EMT or a paramedic?" I said something along the lines of, "our packet mentions working with an EMT a couple more times than it mentions working with a paramedic, so I guess EMT." He was not pleased.

What my much-too-involved story is saying is that I am going to be a resident in the ER next year, and I know absolutely nothing about what happens before patients get to the hospital. Does anyone here know of any basic informational websites or books that could help me get an idea of what's going on? Or would anyone like to educate the whole forum with some basic definitions (e.g., EMT vs. paramedic, ALS vs. BLS)? I know there are some ex-EMTs out there, so I apologize in advance for my ignorance. Don't hate me.

docB

Chronically painful
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
He's got a point though. There are lots of people who start looking at EM and at this forum and must get really lost. I suggest checking the definitions and checking out the prehospital forum on SDN. Do some searches (once the search is back up) and then ask for clarification on the stuff that's still hazy.

carn311

Dead tired.
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
plank said: